Bear Den 5 - 3rd Grade

Is your 3rd Grader thinking about Scouts?

Then you probably have some questions...

Please go to this page and use our online form. We would love to hear from you!



Den Number: 5

Third Grade

Den Leader: Daryl Coppola

Assistant Den Leader: Bill Barry

Summary The Bear rank is for scouts who have finished second grade (or who are 9 years old). To earn the Bear badge, a scout must complete six required adventures and one elective adventure. His or her parent or guardian and den leader approves each requirement by signing his or her book, and the scout receives an adventure loop for each adventure.

When the scout has met all requirements, the Bear badge is presented to his or her parent or guardian at the next pack meeting. During an impressive ceremony, the parent or guardian then presents the badge to the scout.

After the scout has earned the Bear badge, a Bear Scout can work on the remaining 12 Bear electives until he finishes third grade (or turn 10 years old). The scout can choose elective adventures that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his or her scout Scout years. When the scout completes an elective adventure, they receive an additional adventure loop to wear on his or her belt.